Please, no PM’s

Please, no PM’s

Over at SillyDog, which is the best forum I have ever found for Mozilla related issues, and where I am a Diamond member, we have a rule: keep the comments in the forum and not in private messages, or “PM’s”.

SillyDog Forum

One of the people I most admire, and whose blog I read whenever he writes, is the New York citric Greg Sandow. Greg is absolutely one of the most intense thinkers I have ever read. We became e-friendly when I took all of his work that I could find on the internet and built it all into a single file. This includes sixteen chapters of a book, all of the Wall Street Journal pieces, and all of the New Music Box blog pieces.

Greg, responded to this new work of mine with a PM.

So, here is Greg’s PM to me:

From: gregsandow@gmail.com [mailto:gregsandow@gmail.com] On Behalf Of Greg Sandow
Sent: Tuesday, March 24, 2009 9:12 AM
To: mitrich@optonline.net
Subject: blog

Richard,

I like your blog a lot. Such a wealth of information! I don’t know how you do it all. How do you find the time? Anyhow, I’m impressed.

One advantage you have in not being a music professional is that you can really enjoy music, with all your heart. I’m not going to say that professionals don’t do this, but we have to spend a lot of time with music we might not care much about — concerts by friends (well, we love our friends, but might not want to hear every concert they do), things we feel we have to know about for professional reasons, whether we really care or not, and then performances that involve our work.

Whereas your musical life is lived in a state of nearly complete enjoyment. Or so it seems to me. I envy you!

