What do you think of the terms we use for music?

What do you think of the terms we use for music?

I very purposely used the term “serious” music and included in it what is commonly called “Classical” music and what we call Jazz. Certainly opera is serious, and much of what we call “popular music” is very complex in its structure. Those are simply not my particular interest.

But, what do you think of the term “Classical music”? I just cannot use that term. “Classical” is a period, along with ancient, baroque, romantic, impressionist, minimalist, and the ever popular new (as in “New Music”). I tried symphonic, I tried orchestral. But that would leave out chamber music and groups such as Turtle Island and Kronos, two of my favorites among others.

I do not think that there is any question about using the term Jazz. It is too broad, but we all know what it means.

So, Maybe we can get a discussion started about the use of “Classical” to describe so many musics which are not classical at all.

What do you think?

