Critics Can Be Helpful Guides When Building A Music Library and another issue

Critics Can Be Helpful Guides When Building A Music Library and another issue

Some time ago, I wrote about using Alex Ross’ “The Rest Is Noise” as a guide for choosing music. Actually what I bought using that book were the major Suites of Duke Ellington.

Now, I am reading Gary Giddins’ “Weather Bird”, a second collection of Jazz criticism from one of the finest critics I have ever read.
Weathr Bird
I just bought my first album using this book. I bought “Wayne Shorter & Herbie Hancock 1+1”, an album of duets by two of Jazz’ most important people.
Wayne & Herbie 1+1

I highly recommend this way of broadening one’s view and, if you are a lover of Jazz, I heartily recommend this book.

The second issue has to do with who buys music. In an interesting article in the online version of the Guardian, it turns out that the users of pirate sites, torrents, whatever one calls them, these thieves are also the largest buyers of music.

Now, I just paid US$9.49 for ten tracks from 1997. This collection is twelve years old. This is why people go to the torrent sites, because music like this is just too expensive. We are talking about storage on a server. This is cheap. Ken Field objected to my suggestion of US$0.05-0.15 per track. For what he is doing now, that is current, he is right., and we can argue the details. He and I will never agree, but I will always buy his music.

So, buy a book, or two books, whatever, by good recognized critics, and use them as guides. While I normally support living composers, I was delighted to add The Duke to my collection. I think that Wayne and Herbie are both still making great sounds.

